Posted by defensebaseactcomp on May 15, 2010
How many companies still fail to post this?
The Form LS-241 is provided to each insured employer by its insurance carrier. Upon confirmation or renewal of insurance coverage, the insurance carrier should give the insured employer an up-to-date Form LS-241 for posting. The OWCP will supply the Form LS-242 to an employer upon its initial authorization as a self-insured employer.
Because of the nature and purpose of these forms, they are not available for download from the internet. The DLHWC National Office will mail additional blank forms to authorized carriers or self-insured employers upon request. Contact information is at http://www.dol.gov/owcp/dlhwc/lscontac.htm.
U.S. Department of Labor Employment Standards Administration Office of Workers’ Compensation Programs Division of Longshore and Harbor Workers’ Compensation Washington, D.C. 20210
Notice to Employees Working for U.S. Government Contractors Overseas
What You Should Know Before You are Injured
- The Defense Base Act provides disability compensation, medical treatment, and vocational rehabilitation to workers injured at work and death benefits to survivors when the worker is killed on the job. You need not be a U.S. citizen or a U.S. resident to obtain these benefits.
- Ask your employer if you are covered for workers’ compensation under the Defense Base Act. If you are not covered under the Defense Base Act, ask under what workers’ compensation laws are you covered when you work overseas.
- Ask your employer for the name, address, and phone number of the person to whom you should report your injury. Write down the information here.
- Ask your employer for the name, address, and phone number of the insurance company that will handle your workers’ compensation claim when you are injured. Write down the information here.
What to do When You are Injured at Work
- NOTIFY YOUR EMPLOYER IMMEDIATELY. Notice should be given to the person identified above. If possible, complete Form LS-201, Notice of Injury, available from your employer.
- MEDICAL TREATMENT. Request authority from your employer for treatment by the physician you choose. In an emergency or if you are unable to contact your employer, go to the nearest hospital or physician, but be sure to let your employer know as soon as possible.
- DISABILITY. If you are disabled more than 3 days, contact your employer or the insurance company indicated above for payment of compensation, payable 14 days after your employer has knowledge of injury.
- IMPORTANT! The law requires you to give written notice of injury (Form LS-201) to your employer and to the Office of Workers’ Compensation Programs (OWCP) within 30 days. Additional time may be allowed for certain hearing loss and occupational disease claims. Notice should be sent to the District Director at one of the following addresses:
- OWCP/DLHWC, P.O. Box 249, New York, NY 10014-0249, USA, or OWCP/DLHWC, 300 Ala Moana, Box 50209, Honolulu, HI 96850, USA
- FURTHER ASSISTANCE AND INFORMATION. On request, the Office of Workers’ Compensation Programs will explain benefits and proceedings under the Defense Base Act. Its staff will also provide information on medical and vocational services, and will assist in obtaining such benefits. Information is also available online.
Section 31 (a)(1) of the Longshore Act, 33 U.S.C. 931(a)(1), provides as follows: Any claimant or representative of a claimant who knowingly and willfully makes a false statement or representation for the purpose of obtaining a benefit or payment under this Act shall be guilty of a felony, and on conviction thereof shall be punished by a fine not to exceed $10,000, by imprisonment not to exceed five years, or by both.
Just as Important
(c) A person including, but not limited to, an employer, his duly authorized agent, or an employee of an insurance carrier who knowingly and willfully makes a false statement or representation for the purpose of reducing, denying, or terminating benefits to an injured employee, or his dependents pursuant to section 9 [33 USC § 909]if the injury results in death, shall be punished by a fine not to exceed $ 10,000, by imprisonment not to exceed five years, or by both